

# **Media Releases**

# Premier Akeeagok announces cabinet portfolios

(November 19, 2021)

## **News Release**

## Premier Akeeagok announces cabinet portfolios

**Iqaluit, Nunavut (November 19, 2021)** – Premier PJ Akeeagok announced portfolios for his new cabinet today. These portfolio assignments emphasize Premier Akeeagok's commitment to bring new and lasting change rooted in transformative, measurable change.

"Our new executive council blends experience and corporate knowledge with new perspectives and enthusiasm. I am confident that these assignments reflect the skills and abilities of the cabinet ministers, and will ensure we move quickly to address the priorities we've heard from Nunavummiut," said Premier Akeeagok.

Premier Akeeagok will also serve as Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs, Minister of Indigenous Affairs, Minister responsible for Immigration and Minister responsible for the Utility Rate Review Council.

Cabinet ministers have been assigned the following departmental portfolios:

- Deputy Premier, Minister of Education and Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College, the Honourable Pamela Gross,
- Government House Leader, Minister of Economic Development and Transportation and Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation, the Honourable Lorne Kusugak,
- Minister of Environment and Minister of Justice, the Honourable David Akeeagok,
- Minister of Family Services, Minister responsible for Status of Women and Minister responsible for Homelessness, the Honourable Margaret Nakashuk,
- Minister of Finance and Minister of Human Resources, the Honourable Adam Lightstone,
- Minister of Health and Minister responsible for Suicide Prevention, the Honourable John Main,
- Minister of Community and Government Services, the Honourable David Joanasie,
- Minister of Culture and Heritage, Minister responsible for Qulliq Energy Corporation, Minister responsible for Languages and Minister responsible for Seniors the Honourable Joanna Quassa.

"I'm excited to work with all Members of the Legislative Assembly to create our new mandate and lay the path for the next four years. Now, it's time to get to work and create real change for Nunavummiut in every community in our incredible territory," said Premier Akeeagok.

###

## Full portfolio listing below.

#### Media Contact:

Cate Macleod Interim Press Secretary Office of Premier Akeeagok <u>cmacleod6@gov.nu.ca</u> 867-975-5059

#### Premier and Executive Council of Nunavut

## Honourable P.J. Akeeagok, Premier of Nunavut

Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs Minister of Indigenous Affairs Minister responsible for Immigration Minister responsible for Utility Rate Review Council

## Honourable Pamela Gross, Deputy Premier

Minister of Education Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College

#### Honourable Lorne Kusugak

Government House Leader Minister of Economic Development and Transportation Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation Minister responsible for Nunavut Business Credit Corporation Minister responsible for Nunavut Development Corporation Minister responsible for Mines Minister responsible for Trade Minister responsible for Energy

#### Honourable David Akeeagok

Minister of Environment Minister of Justice Minister responsible for Labour Minister responsible for Democratic Institutions Minister responsible for Human Rights Tribunal

#### Honourable Margaret Nakashuk

Minister of Family Services Minister responsible for Status of Women Minister responsible for Homelessness Minister responsible for Poverty Reduction

# Honourable Adam Lightstone

Minister of Finance Minister of Human Resources Minister responsible for Workers Safety and Compensation Commission Minister responsible for the Liquor Licensing Board

#### Honourable John Main

Minister of Health Minister responsible for Suicide Prevention

#### Honourable David Joanasie

Minister of Community and Government Services

Honourable Joanna Quassa Minister of Culture and Heritage Minister responsible for Qulliq Energy Corporation Minister responsible for Languages Minister responsible for Seniors