

## **News Release**

For Immediate Release

# Premier Quassa announces cabinet portfolios

**IQALUIT, Nunavut** (November 21, 2017) –Premier Paul Quassa announced portfolios for his new cabinet today. The fifth executive council of Nunavut is a mix of new and returning politicians, and the first time Nunavut has three female cabinet ministers. These portfolios emphasize Premier Quassa's commitment to fulfilling important campaign promises, fostering understanding and compassion, and putting people first.

"I want to thank the members of cabinet for their enthusiasm and dedication to serve Nunavummiut," said Premier Quassa. "While we certainly have significant work ahead of, we are all eager to meet the challenge. We are committed to improving partnerships and moving forward with social development. I am confident these portfolio assignments ensure strong leadership and will reinvigorate departmental alignment and priorities."

Premier Quassa will also serve as Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs. The Honourable Joe Savikataaq returns to cabinet as Deputy Premier and Minister of Family Services. New cabinet ministers have been assigned the following departmental portfolios:

- Government House Leader, Minister of Economic Development and Transportation and Minister of Environment, the Honourable Elisapee Sheutiapik,
- Minister of Finance, the Honourable David Akeeagok,
- Minister of Health and Minister responsible for suicide prevention, the Honourable Pat Angnakak,
- Minister of Justice, Minister responsible for Qulliq Energy Corporation and Minster responsible for Status of Women, the Honourable Jeannie Ehaloak,
- Minister of Education, Minister responsible for the Nunavut Arctic College and Minister of Culture and Heritage, the Honourable David Joanasie, and
- Minister of Community and Government Services and Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation, the Honourable Lorne Kusugak.

"I want to assure Nunavummiut that we have heard your concerns during this last election. We understand your frustrations and your hopes, and we will undertake the

changes you seek. We work for Nunavummiut, in the best interests of our land, our people and our future," said Premier Quassa.

###

Attached: Full portfolio listing

#### **Media Contact:**

Catriona Macleod
Director of Communications
Department of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs
867-975-6049
cmacleod@gov.nu.ca

# November 21, 2017 Premier and Executive Council of Nunavut

## **Honourable Paul Quassa, Premier of Nunavut**

Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs

Minister of Aboriginal Affairs

Minister responsible for the Utility Rates Review Council

#### Honourable Joe Savikataaq, Deputy Premier

Minister of Family Services

Minister responsible for Homelessness

Minister responsible for Immigration

Minister responsible for Poverty Reduction

#### Honourable Elisapee Sheutiapik

Government House Leader

Minister of Economic Development and Transportation

Minister of Environment

Minister of Energy

Minister responsible for Nunavut Business Credit Corporation

Minister responsible for Nunavut Development Corporation

Minister responsible for Mines

### **Honourable David Akeeagok**

Minister of Finance

Minister responsible for Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission

Minister responsible for the Liquor Commission

Minister responsible for the Liquor Licensing Board

#### **Honourable Pat Agnakak**

Minister of Health

Minister responsible for Suicide Prevention

Minister responsible for Seniors' Advocate

#### **Honourable Jeannnie Ehaloak**

Minister of Justice

Minister responsible for Qulliq Energy Corporation

Minister responsible for Status of Women

Minister responsible for Democratic Institutions

Minister responsible for Human Rights Tribunal

Minister responsible for Labour

#### **Honourable David Joanasie**

Minister of Education

Minister of Culture and Heritage

Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College

Minister of Languages

#### **Honourable Lorne Kusugak**

Minister of Community and Government Services

Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation