Staff Directory

You are here

Our Minister

The Honourable Jeannie Hakongak Ehaloak

Minister of Community and Government Services

Legislative Office: 

Phone: (876) 975-5028
Fax: (876) 975-5128

Jeannie Hakongak Ehaloak was elected in the general election held on October 30, 2017, to represent the constituency of Cambridge Bay in the 5th Legislative Assembly of Nunavut.

Ms. Ehaloak was elected to serve on the Executive Council during the November 17, 2017, proceedings of the Nunavut Leadership Forum. Minister Ehaloak was formally sworn into office on November 21, 2017. She serves as Minister of Justice, Minister of Environment, Minister responsible for the Qulliq Energy Corporation, Minister responsible for Democratic Institutions, Minister responsible for the Human Rights Tribunal and Minister responsible for Labour.

Ms. Ehaloak was born at the CAM-1 DEW Line Site on Jenny Lind Island.

Ms. Ehaloak has held a number of professional positions in her career with the Government of the Northwest Territories, the Municipality of Cambridge Bay, Nunavut Arctic College, the Nunavut Planning Commission and Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated. Prior to her election, Ms. Ehaloak held the position of Manager of Communications for the Nunavut Impact Review Board.

Ms. Ehaloak served as the Mayor of Cambridge Bay from 2011 until her election to the Legislative Assembly. She is a past President of the Nunavut Association of Municipalities.

Ms. Ehaloak has been an active volunteer with the community’s annual Omingmak Frolics. She has also had a leadership role in a number of initiatives related to fighting cancer. Ms. Ehaloak is a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Ms. Ehaloak’s personal interests include sewing, knitting, cross-stitching, walking and camping.

Ms. Ehaloak is the proud mother of three children: Calvin, Greg and Kenneth. Her partner is Mr. Brent Boddy.