Staff Directory

You are here

GN strengthens the Nunavut Development Corporation Board

18 June 2012

IQALUIT, Nunavut (June 18, 2012) – The Government of Nunavut welcomes two new members to the board of the Nunavut Development Corporation. Peter Taptuna, Minister Responsible for the Nunavut Development Corporation (NDC), is pleased to announce the appointment of Jerry Ell of Iqaluit and John Main of Cambridge Bay as directors.

“Jerry Ell has distinguished himself as a professional carver,” said Minister Taptuna. “He has proven he knows what it takes to be a successful artist. We welcome the skills he brings to the Nunavut Development Corporation and its five art-based subsidiaries.”

Ell is the Chair of the Nunavut Arts and Crafts Association. He brings leadership, a passion for the arts, and a strong knowledge of pricing and marketing issues to the board. 

John Main has worked as a Manager of Community Mining Engagement with the Government of Nunavut where he helped form the Kivalliq Mine Training Society. Main also worked as the Economic Development Officer in Arviat.

“John Main also brings a variety of skills and knowledge to the board,” said Minister Taptuna. “His experience in designing and implementing economic development ventures will be a tremendous asset to the Nunavut Development Corporation. He will provide the corporation with strong commerce and business acumen.”

Main and Ell replace outgoing board members Thomas Druyan and Wayne Solomon who have left the territory. 

“Thomas Druyan and Wayne Solomon provided invaluable advice,” Minister Taptuna said. “Their presence on the board will be missed. We wish them the best in their future endeavours.”

The current NDC board members are: Nancy Karetak-Lindell of Arviat , Louis Kamookak of Gjoa Haven, Chris Rudd of Rankin Inlet, Donald Havioyak of Kugluktuk, David Alagalak of Arviat, Zacharias Kunuk of Igloolik, John Main of Cambridge Bay and Jerry Ell of Iqaluit. 


For more information, contact:

Matthew Illaszewicz

Manager, Communications

Economic Development & Transportation

(867) 975-7818

(867) 222-0122 (cell)

Backgrounder: The Nunavut Development Corporation Board

Nancy Karetak-Lindell (Arviat) – Karetak-Lindell served as Nunavut’s Member of Parliament from 1997 to 2008. She is the former Parliamentary Secretary for Natural Resources, former Chairperson of Aboriginal Affairs and a former member of the Fisheries and Oceans and Heritage Standing Committees. She is currently the Director of the Jane Glassco Arctic Fellowship Program with the Walter & Duncan Gordon Foundation. She is the Chair of the NDC board. 

Louie Kamookak (Gjoa Haven) – Kamookak is the past chair of the NDC. He is a respected community leader who currently chairs Gjoa Haven’s Hunters’ and Trappers’ Organization and is the President of Nunavut’s Heritage Advisory Board. 

Zacharias Kunuk (Igloolik) – Kunuk is the President and co-founder of Isuma Productions. He has extensive experience in Nunavut’s film sector. He is the winner of the National Arts Award, National Aboriginal Award and in 2005 was awarded the Order of Canada. Kunuk recently was elected to the Qikiqtani Inuit Association’s board of directors. 

David Alagalak (Arviat) – Alagalak is a former Member of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut and the former Mayor of Arviat. He is a successful entrepreneur and has many years of experience in northern economic development.

Donald Havioyak (Kugluktuk) – Havioyak is currently the Community Relations Officer for the Minerals and Metals Group. He is the former President of the Kitikmeot Inuit Association, as well as a former Member of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut where he served as the Minister of Culture, Language, Elders, and Youth. Havioyak was also an Economic Development Officer with the hamlet of Kugluktuk.


Chris Rudd (Rankin Inlet) – Rudd is a lifetime northerner having lived in Rankin Inlet for 22 years. He and his wife Lynn own IBSL Leasing Ltd. and Ikkayuqtauvik Business Services Ltd and offer both management and finance consulting services to businesses, hamlets and organizations in Nunavut.

Jerry Ell (Iqaluit) – Ell is the Chair of the Nunavut Arts and Crafts Association. He has been a professional carver since 1993. He is currently working with the Department of Economic Development & Transportation on the carving stone inventory project. The project collects local knowledge to determine and document carving stone locations near Nunavut communities.

John Main (Cambridge Bay) – Main has spent almost all of his life in the north. He worked for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, Government of Nunavut and as the Economic Development Officer in Arviat. 

Under the Nunavut Development Corporation Act, directors are appointed for a three-year term by Cabinet on the recommendation of the Minister of Economic Development & Transportation. 

Nunavut Development Corporation 

The NDC, based in Rankin Inlet, Nunavut, is a territorial corporation established under Nunavut Legislation. The corporation directly invests in or operates business enterprises in accordance with the economic objectives of the Government of Nunavut through equity investments, loans and subsidies to create employment and income opportunities for Nunavummiut, primarily in small communities.

The NDC supports nine community-based businesses in seven communities (Cambridge Bay, Taloyoak, Baker Lake, Rankin Inlet, Whale Cove, Arviat and Pangnirtung) and a marketing and retail service (based in Toronto) for arts & crafts and other Nunavut products.

Visit the Nunavut Development Corporation website: