Staff Directory

You are here

Minister Ell announces changes to the Nunavut Development Corporation Board

27 April 2015

News Release 

Minister Ell announces changes to the Nunavut Development Corporation Board 

IQALUIT, Nunavut (April 27, 2015) – Monica Ell, Minister responsible for the Nunavut Development Corporation (NDC), today announced changes in the corporation’s board of directors. 

Donald Havioyak (Kugluktuk), Zacharias Kunuk (Igloolik) and John Main (Cambridge Bay) have been re-appointed as directors of the NDC. Each will serve a term of three years. 

Elizabeth Kingston (Iqaluit), Malaya M. Rheaume (Ottawa), John Ningark Sr. (Kugaaruk), Kolola Pitsiulak (Kimmirut) and Sakiasie Sowdlooapik (Pangnirtung) have been newly appointed as directors of the NDC, for three-year terms. 

Donald Havioyak becomes NDC’s chairperson, effective March 9, 2015. 

“The appointments are reflective of Nunavut’s regions and demographics,” said Minister Ell. “Each board member brings a unique skill set to the corporation, enhancing the board’s ability to make sound decisions and support economic development in the territory.” 

In addition, Jerry Ell (Iqaluit) will continue as director of the corporation until May 2015. 

Minister Ell extends her sincere appreciation to outgoing board members Nancy Karetak Lindell (Arviat), Chris Rudd (Rankin Inlet), David Alagalak (Arviat) and Louie Kamookak (Gjoa Haven) for their valuable contributions to the corporation. 


Media Contact: 

Matthew Illaszewicz 
Manager, Communications 
Economic Development and Transportation 



The Nunavut Development Corporation 

The Nunavut Development Corporation (NDC) is a territorial corporation that is mandated to carry out projects and invest in business enterprises to create employment and income opportunities for Nunavummiut, primarily in smaller communities; stimulate the growth of local businesses; and promote economic diversification and stability. 

Under the Nunavut Development Corporation Act, directors are appointed for a three-year term by Cabinet (the Commissioner in Executive Council) on the recommendation of the Minister of Economic Development and Transportation. 


Donald Havioyak served as Kugluktuk’s Member of Legislative Assembly from 1999 to 2004. During this time he was the Minister of Culture, Language, Elders and Youth. He was also President of the Kitikmeot Inuit Association from 2005 to 2008. Mr. Havioyak is currently a community relations officer with MMG Resources Inc. He brings a deep understanding of community capacities and government processes, stemming from his service as MLA and two decades of work in government positions related to economic development, financial administration and employment and training. 

Zacharias Kunuk is well known for his outstanding accomplishments as co-founder and president of Igloolik Isuma Productions, Canada’s first Inuit-owned independent film production company. He won the Camera d’Or at Cannes 2001 and has been awarded numerous other film prizes. Mr. Kunuk is an Officer of the Order of Canada and holds an Honorary Doctor of Law degree from Trent University. His considerable knowledge of the film industry is a valuable resource to the board in understanding and promoting opportunities in this sector for Nunavummiut. 

John Main is a life-long Nunavummiuq who brings a diverse range of commerce, business advisory and communication skills from his current position with the Kitikmeot Corporation as business development officer, and his past work with the Hamlet of Arviat as community economic development officer, as manager of community mining engagement, and CBC television reporter. 

Elizabeth Kingston, a Nunavut resident for nine years, is an accomplished executive with experience in management operations, communications, and contract administration in government and non-profit environments. She is currently employed as general manager of the NWT & Nunavut Chamber of Mines. She has also served on boards and committees of Habitat for Humanity, the NWT and Nunavut Workers’ Safety & Compensation Commission and the City of Iqaluit. 

Malaya M. Rheaume brings many strengths and skills in administration, strategic and operational planning, marketing and governance from over sixteen years with Nunasi Corporation, where she is currently executive director/corporate secretary. She is president of the Tungasuvvingat Inuit of Ottawa board, and has served on the boards of NorTerra Inc., Larga Kivalliq, Uqsuq Corporation and the Yellowknife Inuit Association. 

John Ningark Sr. served as a Member of the Legislative Assemblies of Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. He brings considerable management knowledge from seventeen years as secretary manager-senior administrative officer for Kugaaruk and from six years as general manager of the Koomiut Cooperative. Mr. Ningark is currently semi-retired. 

Kolola Pitsiulak brings administrative experience from his twenty-five years of work in multiple roles with the Kimmirut Housing Association and Nunavut Housing Corporation. He is currently employed as manager of the Mayukalik Hunters and Trappers Association. He has served on boards of the Arctic Co-operatives Limited, Hunters and Trapper Organization and Hamlet Council. 

Sakiasie Sowdlooapik brings over thirty years of public service experience from his work with Parks Canada and the Government of Nunavut’s Department of Environment. He is a recipient of the Governor General’s Jubilee Award for Excellent Work in Community Leadership stemming from his significant dedication to numerous municipal, land claim organizations, and industry boards and committees including: Cumberland Sound Fisheries Ltd., Baffin Fisheries Ltd., Baffin Fisheries Collation, Atuqtuarvik Corporation, Kakivak Association, Baffin Business Development Corporation Board, Nunavut Association of Municipalities, Qikiqtani Inuit Association, Hamlet of Pangnirtung, Pangnirtung Housing Association, and Pangnirtung Hunters and Trappers Association.