Staff Directory

You are here

Statement - New Nunavut Development Corporation Chairperson

21 April 2011

Statement from Hon. Peter Taptuna:

“Nancy Karetak-Lindell of Arviat has been appointed chairperson of the Nunavut Development Corporation (NDC).

Ms. Karetak-Lindell has a wide range of knowledge and experience that is invaluable to the Nunavut Development Corporation. Her understanding of northern issues and background in governance will greatly benefit the corporation. 

Ms. Karetak-Lindell served as Nunavut’s Member of Parliament from 1997 to 2008. She has been on the board of the NDC since March of 2009. She replaces Louie Kamookak of Gjoa Haven as chairperson. Mr. Kamookak remains a director on the board. 

A special thank you goes out to Mr. Kamookak for his years of commitment and leadership as the chairperson of the board. Mr. Kamookak will remain on the board and I am pleased that the corporation will continue to benefit from his experience. Changing the chairperson from time to time ensures a dynamic board where new views and ideas are presented.

Cambridge Bay business consultant Wayne Solomon and Iqaluit lawyer Thomas Druyan were also re-appointed as directors. They will each serve a three-year term.” 


Backgrounder attached.

For more information, contact:

Matthew Illaszewicz

Manager, Communications

Economic Development & Transportation

(867) 975-7818