Staff Directory

You are here

Premier Announces Cabinet Portfolios

19 November 2013

News Release

For Immediate Release

Premier Announces Cabinet Portfolios

IQALUIT, Nunavut (November 19, 2013) – Nunavut’s new Premier, Peter Taptuna today announced the portfolios for the new Cabinet. With many new and a few familiar faces around the table, the assignments recognize the strengths, skills and backgrounds of each member and also the premier’s commitment to have representation from all regions of the territory.

MLAs chose eight colleagues to serve on Executive Council on November 15, 2013.

“It is a big commitment sitting on Executive Council and I would like to thank every minister for accepting the responsibilities and commitments their position represents,” said Premier Peter Taptuna. “There are many challenges and opportunities facing Nunavut and Nunavummiut and I believe that with this strong Cabinet and a commitment from Nunavummiut to be part of the solution, we will make the changes necessary for a resilient Nunavut.”

Monica Ell returns to cabinet but under a different portfolio as Deputy Premier and Minister of Health, and Minister Keith Peterson will remain a familiar face as Minister of Finance. Premier Taptuna has assigned the following departmental portfolios:

Minister of Economic Development & Transportation and Nunavut Housing Corporation, the Honourable George Kuksuk,
Minister of Environment, the Honourable Johnny Mike,
Minister of Justice and Minister of Culture and Heritage, the Honourable Paul Okalik,
Minister of Education and Nunavut Arctic College, the Honourable Paul Quassa
Minister of Community and Government Services, the Honourable Tom Sammurtok
Minister of Family Services, the Honourable Jeannie Ugyuk.

A full list of portfolios is attached.

“I have met with my new Cabinet and we look forward to determining the priorities of this government and to developing a plan of action to move those priorities forward,” said Premier Taptuna.


Attachment: Full portfolio listing attached.

Media Contact:

Pam Coulter
Director of Communications
Department of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs