Staff Directory

You are here

Parks and Special Places

The Parks and Special Places division is responsible for planning, establishment, management, operation and promotion of Mirnguiqsirviit – Nunavut’s territorial parks and special places.

Nunavut’s parks and special places are important destinations and attractions for Nunavummiut and our visitors. They showcase our rich natural and cultural heritage locally, regionally, nationally and internationally; strengthen and support local Inuit cultures and communities through promotion and development of land-based activities; and stimulate pursuit of traditional activities through Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit.

Parks and Special Places, through the Umbrella Inuit Impact and Benefits Agreement (IIBA) for Territorial parks and the NLCA, are planned and managed jointly and are founded on sound and comprehensive resource information, Inuit Qaujimajangit, local and scientific knowledge, and current technological and geospatial information.


The objectives of the Parks and Special Places division are to:

  • Protect Nunavut's natural and cultural landscapes. Nunavut's Territorial Parks and Special Places system identifies, protects and promotes Nunavut's natural and cultural heritage; its biodiversity and integrity; and its significant, unique and valued natural and cultural landscapes and resources.
  • Engage the community in conservation and heritage appreciation.Nunavut's Territorial Parks and Special Places engage residents and visitors, and foster pride, understanding, knowledge, and appreciation of the territory's diverse and unique natural and cultural heritage.
  • Enhance visitor experiences. Nunavut's Territorial Parks and Special Places promote opportunities for appropriate, safe and accessible recreation and increased public enjoyment and educational opportunities consistent with the protection of the natural and cultural values; and are important destinations and attractions for Nunavummiut and visitors and provide direct and indirect economic benefit to communities.


Contact Name: 
Environment Headquarters
(867) 975-7700