Staff Directory

You are here

Premier Savikitaaq announces cabinet changes

20 August 2018

News Release

For Immediate Release

Premier announces changes to cabinet

Iqaluit, Nunavut (August 20, 2018) – Premier Joe Savikataaq announced changes to executive council today.

“After two months as Premier, I have a clear sense of the strengths and abilities of all members of cabinet. I have had time to evaluate relationships and fit, and feel it is important to make changes as we embark on a very busy fall season,” said Premier Savikataaq.

Effective immediately:

The Honourable George Hickes becomes Minister of Health and Minister responsible for Suicide Prevention, in addition to Minister of Finance.
The Honourable Pat Angnakak becomes Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation and Minister responsible for the Qulliq Energy Corporation.

The Honourable Lorne Kusugak remains Minister of Community and Government Services, and the Honourable Jeannie Ehaloak remains Minister of Justice and Minister of Environment.

“I thank all ministers for their hard work and passion. Our cabinet is committed and will always have the best interests of Nunavummiut in mind,” said Premier Savikataaq.


Media Contact:

Cate Macleod
Press Secretary Office of Joe Savikataaq

ᐱᕙᓪᓕᐊᔪᑦ ᑐᓴᒐᒃᓴᙳᖅᑎᑕᐅᔪᑦ ᐱᔭᐅᔪᓐᓇᖃᑦᑕᖅᑐᑦ ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑑᖓᓗᑎᒃ, ᖃᓪᓗᓈᑎᑐᑦ, ᐃᓄᐃᓐᓇᖅᑐᓐ ᐅᐃᕖᑎᑐᓪᓗ ᐅᕙᓂ,
News releases are available in Inuktitut, English, Inuinnaqtun and French on
Tuhaqtaghat ittut Inuktitut, Qablunaatitut, Inuinnaqtun Uiviititullu talvani
Les communiqués de presse sont disponibles en inuktitut, en anglais, en inuinnaqtun et en français au