Staff Directory

You are here

Liquor restriction systems in Nunavut

25 June 2021

Public Service Announcement

Liquor restriction systems in Nunavut

The Department of Finance reminds Nunavummiut that liquor rules vary by community. In Nunavut, communities fall under three liquor systems: prohibited, restricted or unrestricted.

A prohibited system means that the consumption, possession, purchase, sale or transport of liquor is prohibited. The following communities are prohibited: Arviat, Coral Harbour, Gjoa Haven, Kugaaruk, Pangnirtung and Sanikiluaq.

A restricted system means that an Alcohol Education Committee (AEC) is responsible for regulating the purchase, sale and import of alcohol in the community. The following communities are restricted: Arctic Bay, Kinngait, Chesterfield Inlet, Clyde River, Sanirajak, Igloolik, Kimmirut, Naujaat, Pond Inlet, Qikiqtarjuaq, Resolute Bay and Whale Cove.

An unrestricted system means that only the general rules concerning the import, purchase and consumption of alcohol set out under Nunavut’s Liquor Act apply. The following communities are unrestricted: Baker Lake, Cambridge Bay, Grise Fiord, Iqaluit, Kugluktuk, Rankin Inlet and Taloyoak.

For more information about liquor restriction regulations in your community or for AEC contact information, please call 867-975-6816 or visit


Media Contact:

Weichien Chan
Manager, Communications
Department of Finance