Staff Directory

The latest GN COVID-19 news and updates can be found on our homepage. COVID-19 resources can be found on our Department of Health COVID-19 resources page.

You are here

Government of Nunavut services during the holiday closure

18 December 2019

Public Service Announcement

Government of Nunavut services during the holiday closure

All Government of Nunavut offices will be closed from December 24 to January 1 except for the following:

Department of Health:

  • Qikiqtani General Hospital (QGH)
    • Rapid Access Clinic (walk-in clinic) at QGH is open December 24, 27, 30 and 31.
  • Community health centres, where services will be reduced to emergency or urgent care, sick clinic, walk-in and appointments for at-risk clients.
  • Home care services.
  • Mental health services.
  • Public health services.
  • Laboratory services.
  • Diagnostic imaging services.
  • Medical travel.
  • Midwifery (on call).
  • Cambridge Bay mental health facility.
  • Akausisarvik mental health facility in Iqaluit.
  • Boarding homes:
    • Churchill – Iglualuk Boarding Home.
    • Edmonton – Larga House.
    • Iqaluit – Tammattaavik Boarding Home.
    • Ottawa – Larga House Baffin.
    • Winnipeg – Kivalliq Inuit Centre.
    • Yellowknife – Larga Kitikmeot Boarding Home.

Department of Family Services:

  • Children and Family Services Division (on call).
  • Income Assistance Division (on call).
  • Career Development/Financial Assistance for Nunavut Students Division (on call).

Department of Community and Government Services:

  • Safety Services Division emergency number (Office of the Fire Marshal, chief electrical inspector, chief building inspector and chief boiler inspector) (867-222-0132 or 867-222-1214).
  • Facilities Management Division, CGS maintenance in Iqaluit (867-979-5650).
  • Emergency Management Office (867-979-6262 or 1-800-693-1666).
  • For more contact information go to

Department of Economic Development and Transportation:

  • Nunavut airports.
  • The Unikkaarvik Visitor’s Centre in Iqaluit (Baffin Regional Visitor Information Centre) will be closed on December 25 and January 1, 2020 only.

Department of Environment:

  • Emergency spill services (867-222-0462).
  • Emergency wildlife management (867-222-0167).

Department of Finance:

  • Nunavut Liquor and Cannabis Commission
    • Business hours will be reduced at the Iqaluit beer and wine store. On December 23, 27 and 28, the store will open from 1 to 6 p.m., and on December 24 and 31, the store will open from 1 to 5 p.m. The store will be closed on December 25, 26 and January 1.
    • Liquor import permits will be available for purchase at the Iqaluit beer and wine store on December 23, 27 and 28 from 1 to 6 p.m. Licensee and community orders will not be processed from December 24, 2019 to January 1, 2020.

Department of Justice:

  • Legal registries.
  • All correctional facilities:
    • Baffin Correctional Centre: 867-979-8100 option 2
    • Makigiarvik Correction Centre: 867-979-8100 option 3
    • Isumaqsunngittukkuvik Youth Facility: 867-979-8100 ext 1301
    • Nunavut Women’s Correctional Centre: 867-979-8100 ext 1313
    • Uttaqivik Community Residential Centre: call 867-975-6547
    • Rankin Inlet Healing Facility: 867-645-2305
    • Kugluktuk Ilavut Centre: 867-982-5870
    • Community Correction Probation by Region
    • Emily Tagoona will be covering Kivalliq region 867-645-6674
    • Danny Lajoie will be covering Kitikmeot he can be reached at 867-982-2556 or
    • Megan Sandoval will be covering North Baffin and South Baffin from
    • December 23 to 28, 2019 she can be reached at 403-470-3593
    • Felicia Collins will be covering North Baffin and South Baffin from December
    • 28-Jan 2, 2020 and she can be reached at 867-975-1616 or

Nunavut Housing Corporation

  • Emergency contact number: 867-222-1304. Do not send text messages.

More contact information can be found at:

All GN offices will reopen on Tuesday, January 2, 2019, for regular business. Happy Holidays!


Media Contact:

Janis Qaunirq
Communications Specialist
Department of Human Resources